In response to The Daily Post’s weekly photo challenge: “Muse.”

When I saw the subject for this week’s photo challenge, I knew immediately what my post would be…Riverlands Migratory Bird Sanctuary in West Alton, MO. I love the scenery, I love the wildlife, I love the river…the Mississippi River. My only problem was choosing the pictures I would use out of the hundreds I have taken in all seasons and during all kinds of weather. So here is what I settled on…

We see herons all the time at Riverlands...we like to think this one is a permanent resident. We have named him Eli, and we look for him on every trip. He is very territorial, and lives in Ellis Bay.

We see herons all the time at Riverlands…we like to think this one is a permanent resident. We have named him Eli, and we look for him on every trip. He is very territorial, and lives in Ellis Bay.

The scenery at Riverlands is always changing, as the seasons change and different birds come and go, and as the river changes.

We have seen so many different kinds of wildlife…but most impressive are the thousands of birds that migrate through the area, as well as the ones that make the sanctuary their home.

The winter is beautiful at Riverlands...saw these swans and a heron in late winter several years ago.

The winter is beautiful at Riverlands…saw these swans in late winter several years ago.

The herons are probably our favorites…

Sometimes you just have to wait for a family to cross the road…to go for a swim!

And then there are so many others…

I told you it would not be easy to pick out a few pictures…I love this place!